The Retro Gamer is 5 years old today.

I told myself I wasn’t going to make a big deal out of it, but when you’ve been running a blog for five years, it’s kind of a big deal.

I started this thing all because I had a crappy laptop that couldn’t play much more than the original Fallout, and I wanted to write about games. Having also grown up with consoles and PC games in the 90s and 00s, and having a knack for remembering old game history and trivia, “The Retro Gamer” seemed like a good fit. I couldn’t record any gameplay, and my only microphone was part of a broken SOCOM headset. I didn’t know how to edit video or upload to YouTube, so I wrote. I wrote, because of my dream job.

Ever since my days of riding with my parents to Publix just to hunch over the magazine section and read game mags for an hour (and buying my favorites to re-read them), I’ve dreamed of working at Electronic Gaming Monthly. That was the goal, that was my dream job. I wanted to be part of the review crew and give a game a 9.5 and then talk about what made it so great. I wanted to preview the hottest new games and interview Shinji Mikami about Resident Evil. I wanted to work with and talk to people who loved games as much as I did. It’s why I joined the newspaper and yearbook classes in high school. It’s why I majored in Mass Communications in college. All for this dream. Even though at the same time, my interests were changing and old loves re-emerging. I liked animation. I liked filmmaking and writing fiction. I began liking the thought of making games more than the thought of writing about them.

Over time, other things changed, too. Society changed. These new-fangled smartphones and this thing called the Internet exploded in prevalence to the point that print magazines could no longer survive. I remember the day I read an article about the death of the print magazine. I was already a member of 1up at that time, and had contributed blog posts there. I remember that moment, going to 1up.com and just looking at it. Looking at it and thinking, “This… is the future of game journalism.” And to me, right then, the magic was lost. I had little interest in pursuing a career as a journalist through a digital medium, primarily because the format was so different. News is constant now — the Internet demands it 24/7. It is cluttered — messy websites with links everywhere to 500 different articles written by 12 different people across the country. No personality, no intimacy, just hastily-typed articles from a bunch of people who never see each other and get a small paycheck. That was not attractive to me at all. That was not my dream job.

Fast forward 5 years and I have a high end gaming PC I built myself, and I’m recording videos about games with a professional studio mic. And I’m still writing about them. I’ve even made a game of my own.

Even with waning interest in making a career out of writing about games, I would never kill this blog. The thought has never even crossed my mind. I love The Retro Gamer, for all its flaws, and all that it has become. I don’t care that I don’t have many followers, or that I don’t update often enough to be anything close to consistent. I still love playing and talking about games, and as long as that’s true, I’m going to keep doing it right here. And here.

~ by The Retro Gamer on July 21, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
