Forza, Xbox, and custom soundtracks

I recently got to play Forza 5 at Best Buy. Drop-dead gorgeous game, and almost worth an Xbox One alone. But that isn’t what this post is about.

It inspired me to hook up the only other Forza I’ve ever played, which is the first one on Xbox. I hooked the old black box up to my 50″ Sammy, and after some fiddling with the disc drive that tends to stick, I was firing up Forza like it was 2005.

Literally. The game picked up exactly where I had left off in 2005, and my custom soundtracks were blasting through my headphones in no time. It was a rush of nostalgia. That’s one thing I miss about the Xbox and early Xbox 360: custom soundtracks. Being able to upload your own music to the console and blast it through the game is just awesome.

But consoles don’t have that feature anymore! You would think games now would let you at least sync your Last.fm, Pandora, Spotify, etc. accounts to play during games, but you can’t even do that! No more custom soundtracks! They vanished after the 360 stopped supporting them, and it makes me really sad. Especially for racing games, custom soundtracks are great, because you can make playlists that are fun to race to for you, personally. In 2005, I was racing to MxPx, Yellowcard, Blink-182 and Green Day, and even today that’s a great soundtrack to me. But ever since the consoles dropped this feature (even PC games don’t support custom soundtracks for the most part), racing got a whole lot more boring.

Anyway, I only played for about an hour and got fed up, because I still can’t beat this one race that I got stumped on years ago. Ah well. I’ll probably keep trying… Or maybe I should just get a newer Forza game! And, of course, deal with the icky in-game music.

~ by The Retro Gamer on April 4, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
