Dreamcast Turns 12!

1up blogged about the Sega Dreamcast yesterday because it was the system’s 12th anniversary! Happy birthday, Dreamcast! (Belated, although I did write this article yesterday 😉 )

 
 
 

The Dreamcast was one of the best game consoles ever, in my opinion, even though I never had the pleasure of owning one. I have played it on several occasions, however, and there are more than a few games that sound really intriguing to me. Here’s my list of the top 5 Dreamcast games I’d love to get my hands on:

5. Power Stone 2

I played this game for the first time recently at a friend’s house, and it was really fun. This surprised me, because my friend described it as a fighting game, and I’m not really into fighting games. However, the Power Stone games are actually more akin to Super Smash Bros., which is arena-style brawling, rather than 1-on-1 fighting. Power Stone 2 has players scrambling to get “Power Stones” which give a special power exclusive to each character once you collect enough. Players are also scrambling to move along with the level, as each stage has much variety, and players constantly have to be moving to the next area or escaping a deathtrap, or they’ll get left behind. There’s also a single-player/ co-op mode, but I haven’t gotten a chance to try that.

 

4. Chu Chu Rocket

Okay, believe it or not, I used to play this game all the time in high school on my calculator. It was a really addictive puzzle game where you had to send mice into holes in the map without them getting eaten by the cats. The Dreamcast version, besides being in color and having sound, looks to have way more features (for obvious reasons). Plus, it has multiplayer, which I have heard is a blast.

 

3. Skies of Arcadia

I’m a sucker for JRPGs with Steampunk themes, especially if they’re in the sky, so this game is right up my alley. It looks like a typical turn-based ’90s RPG, but I’m mainly just interested to see if the story is any good. I’ve heard the random battles in the game are very annoying, though, which irks me… frequent random battles without warning can go die in a fire.

Misty?

 

2. Crazy Taxi

Ah, the classic. There’s no other gaming experience like that of dropping into the city in Crazy Taxi, hearing the announcer do the countdown, then “YAYAYAYAYA!” Your mind becomes an adrenaline-fueled blob of numbness as you race around at 60 frames per second, picking up person after person and attempting to dump them off at their destination before time runs out. Never gets old.

 

1. Shenmue

I have heard so much about this game, this experience. It was a primary influence for several games and even genres that came after it. Everything about it sounds so ambitious and ahead of its time, and I’m really interested to see how they pulled it all off.

Read about it. Watch the epic trailer.

The Sega Dreamcast was an underappreciated system that had some amazing games. It left the market too soon, but its legacy lives on. Sega continues to re-release Dreamcast titles on other systems, as well as make new games for the current generation. Will Sega ever get back into the console-making business? Maybe, maybe not, but the fact that the company is still very much alive and kicking is a good sign.

~ by The Retro Gamer on September 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
